Because the rest of Today is a self-declared non-work day…

I shall not write about my eventful week(s) that brought the first term of 2012 to a close. My fingers are tempted to brush across the keyboard and narrate the very exciting and authentic sequence of events, and my mind is racing to think of the best words to describe my emotions, but we shall not venture beyond that. We. shall. not.

Instead, I would like to talk about my bucket list. When Dr D asked our class to come up with a bucket list of three items, one of the three things on my list was: to write a book. I thought of two more things which I would love to do some day. Perhaps I could make a promise to experience these new things every holiday.

The first would be to learn the ukelele. Stringed instruments (the violin is a partial exception – I still need to get used to the potentially screechy sounds of it) have a lovely musical quality which I think relieves and soothes the nerves. One day, I would master the ukelele and be able to sing some of my favourite tunes with it.

The second would be to learn pottery. Now I don’t know where I got this idea from, and some of my friends are convinced that my resolve is influenced by Patrick Swayze and Demi Moore’s movie Ghost.

But I remain unconvinced. In any case, when I had examination duties at Naval Base Secondary a while back, I noticed they had a pottery workshop. With pottery pieces exhibited all around the room. (ooh!) After a colleague mentioned that she would also like to learn pottery, I am certain this is one of the things I would like to try one day.

Leave a Reply

