Reblogged: Why Teach Literature?

Kathleen: I started helping my mother
here after school when I was six years
old. I used to watch her, and it wasn’t
that she was selling books, it was that
she was helping people become whoever
they were going to turn out to be.

– You’ve Got Mail (1998)

Sometimes when people talk about being a teacher, we inevitably end up thinking of our personal motivations for pursuing (or accepting) this profession. When I watched ‘You’ve Got Mail’ today, I realise Meg Ryan’s character in the film says it just the way I want to. Why teach, literature? Because I believe in it’s magic to help people become better persons as they grow up.

(:

Leave a Reply

