The Burning House

Okay, so I came across this one particular update on my Facebook news feed and decided to see if I could even “make a list”, given my abhorrently indecisive nature. This little project is based on The Burning House (which explains the title of the post).

If your house was burning, what would you take with you? It’s a conflict between what’s practical, valuable and sentimental. What you would take reflects your interests, background and priorities. Think of it as an interview condensed into one question.

 

Here’s my list of ten things:

  • Samsung Van Gogh – Samsung SII mobile.
  • SSOE laptop and charger
  • Hard drive
  • Good Heart, the ugly-on-the-outside-hippo-plushie
  • My students’ worksheets – one thing more impossible than remarking the work I may lose in a fire, is getting students to redo the piece of work!
  • Passport
  • Wallet
  • Bag of craft materials
  • Bible
  • Cloud Atlas novel

Well the website doesn’t seem to limit the number of things you can grab on your way out of a burning house, although D did say “ten things”. I suppose when your house is burning you don’t really think of packing the nicest of stuff in a bag and throwing them over your shoulder before running out. I will just make sure my family and I get out and stay safe and away, for all those things are really secondary in defining who you are.

A rather interesting list though… coming from my tired brain at 12:13 AM on a Sunday morning from a little cubby corner. My eye and memory fails me, when conjuring up what I could grab to form a most attractive (but honest) list. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

