An Unexpected Greeting

I awoke one morning and opened a text from possibly the last person I expected to hear from. He had found a book I had given to him awhile ago, and decided to check in on me and find out how things were going. While texting this particular person had become an emotional chore in the past because it felt that there was so much second guessing and misinterpretations and cautionary measures built in place that we hardly felt comfortable being open, this time, he sounded genuinely, truly concern as a brother in Christ. He even offered to keep me in prayer, possibly because he knew I worked so hard I forget about God, just like he used to. And that small little gesture of texting to check in on me as a friend, made me feel thankful and moved. Not only because an old friend remembers me and the struggles I might be facing, but also because my God has not yet forsaken me. Thank you, Lord, from your very undeserving child.

Leave a Reply

