Sickly Service

The most dreaded virus I find my body most susceptible to is the flu. I hate it each time I get the flu, when the waste-paper bins are filled with mushy white tissue paper, the mug you drink out of reeks of illness, and there is hardly enough water left in the jar because your body practically craves water like it is air. 

This morning I debated between spending money going to the doctor’s for an MC, or to just head down to school to clock in 4 hours. The headache told me that I should not risk going to school looking like a measled animal whimpering and sniffing and carrying boxes of tissue around, so I headed down to the doctor’s. I queued outside fifteen minutes before the clinic opened at nine o’clock, only to be told when it finally opened that the doctor would only arrive later. “He looks at the CCTV and sees how many patients there are.” The nurse explained to another patient, who inquired when the doctor would arrive. what?? is that how private gps work nowadays? 

The doctor finally showed up at around nine forty-five, and as the first patient I had a two-minute consultation with him before I paid close to fifty dollars for the consultation and medication, and left in five minutes before ten. 

The experience left me feeling ever more sore. I decided to visit this clinic because the other clinic usually met a waiting time of two hours. But I felt indignant that for this clinic, the doctor’s schedules seemed to revolve around him than his patients. He asked all the relevant questions and prescribed all the appropriate medication, but I did not feel that I had just visited a doctor – I felt that I had just paid close to fifty dollars for an MC, period. 

Teaching, just like being a general practitioner, has to be more than just a profit-driven business, right? I did not feel like a patient, but a customer, who just completed a quick transaction. So I decided that I will go back to my usual GP even if I have to wait for an hour or so more, simply because she cares for every single person – young or old – who walks in through her doors, and treats them with patience and heart. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

