Let the little children come to me

There was a large children turnout at the Prayer Meeting last evening. At first, I did not know why there were so many of them. But after the service started, I learnt that for the next few weeks, there would be a separate prayer meeting conducted for the little children during their year-end holidays.

The sight of the little children gathering with the adults in a circle with the orange song books in their hands, trying to mouth every word along with us, made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. As I looked at the little boy sitting opposite me metres away, looking up at the uncle standing next to him, pointing at the words on the page for him, I just felt such joy and pride at seeing their childlike submission.

These children wanted to come for prayer meeting, to pray for the church. They put aside their evening of TV, computer games, and other fun they may have been able to enjoy, and chose to attend prayer meeting with the rest of the family of God in church. I thought back to the moments in Sunday School when we taught the toddlers to pray. We would go around gathering prayer requests at the end of every lesson, and they would share what bothered them the most, and we would pray altogether for them and their worries.

The evening was heartwarmingly inspiring. A little girl told me on Sunday that she would not be able to come because both her parents would be overseas.

I asked her, “How did you come today?”

She replied, “My papa sent me then he go to the airport.” Her eyes speaking of the immense excitement coming to church on a weekday evening.

Another little boy I teach came by himself.

I asked, “Who brought you here?”

“Uncle.”

It just warmed my heart to see what childlike faith they demonstrated. Such little life lessons to be learnt from the children among us. With that, I resolve to come for prayer meeting every Wednesday instead of giving myself a whole list of excuses.

In one of my Quiet Time devotional readings recently, I was reminded that what matters is not how good we are in our work, but how intimate we are with our Lord. And if I were to give up the latter, the former would mean nothing.

 

Leave a Reply

