Week Zero

Week Zero consists of two days of school. All my lessons comprised re-introductions and target setting activities. Even I find myself unwilling to start lessons proper. And the bare minimal number of classroom teaching these two days have already driven us near to the point of exhaustion – many of us found ourselves craving sleep before the end of Friday – the trend so glaringly obvious and hard to ignore. 

I want to whisper a prayer for 2014. For the form class young’uns who will be streamed into different classes next year. I pray that even with parents, teachers and themselves breathing down their necks, these little ones will be able to hold on to a sense of goodness, truthfulness and joy, as they find their will to persevere. It is sad I will only see them no more than two to three hours a week – but I know my Lord is the Overseer and He will guide them and keep them. 

My second whisper of a prayer is for the Sec 4 students I teach. We had a bad year in 2013, fighting angst and plenty of rage, but they seem ready to give 2014 another try with me so I thank and praise God for that. I pray that I have the wisdom to motivate them to persist, to discipline when I need to, and to the courage and commitment to do so even when the going gets tough. I pray they all have a sense of perseverance and humility to learn even when times do get dull and boring and difficult. I pray that they have a blast of a year to end their Secondary school education with. :) 

I also remember the lower Secondary young’uns and Literature peeps whom I will be meeting for the first time next week. May this year be smashingly good and blessed for all. 

Leave a Reply

